Free Charging Stations and charger types - Kia Niro Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-26-2018, 08:00 PM Thread Starter

Question Free Charging Stations and charger types

Hi,

Just grabbed the last 2018 Kia Niro PHEV EX available in the New England area in US. I am very new to electric charging and need some education.

Question#1: I heard that we can charge for free. Is it true? If yes, can someone please provide details regarding - how to find free charging stations ? If no, what are the best options to charge for cheap?

Question#2: Can I charge at any charging station or are there any limitations based on the charger type? Did some googling and came across J1772, CHADEMO types. Don't know what they are, but does both of them work or only one works for Niro? Also it appears like there are Level 1, 2, 3 charger types.. how to find them?

Thank you in advance.

Thanks,
r-a-v-i
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-26-2018, 08:45 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ravivedala View Post
Hi,

Just grabbed the last 2018 Kia Niro PHEV EX available in the New England area in US. I am very new to electric charging and need some education.

Question#1: I heard that we can charge for free. Is it true? If yes, can someone please provide details regarding - how to find free charging stations ? If no, what are the best options to charge for cheap?

Question#2: Can I charge at any charging station or are there any limitations based on the charger type? Did some googling and came across J1772, CHADEMO types. Don't know what they are, but does both of them work or only one works for Niro? Also it appears like there are Level 1, 2, 3 charger types.. how to find them?

Thank you in advance.

Thanks,
r-a-v-i
This is my second PHEV, first was the 2013 Cmax Energi.