Prius V versus Niro - Kia Niro Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By yticolev

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-06-2018, 12:41 PM Thread Starter

Prius V versus Niro

I'm a volunteer driver for our local Senior Citizens center and just did a 25 mile round trip in the Prius V on secondary roads. Thought some may be interested in my quick thoughts as they are roughly the same size and are technically close competitors. This car was bought last year and has about 7,000 miles on it - probably a 2016 - there are no 2017/8s. About 200 pounds heavier than the Niro, and EPA ratings and Fuelly stats of low 40's. However on my trip in 50 degree weather, it got a surprising 55 mpg according to the onboard calculator with two of us inside, more than I've been able to get in my Niro by myself in the same weather (indicated 51). Acceleration was slower, and it handled like a boat, lots of swaying back and forth. On the plus side, visibility was much better and the backup camera had much better resolution (poor camera resolution is a pet peeve of mine on the Niro).

I much prefer the Niro of course!
extech67 likes this.

2018 Kia LX HEV Metal Stream with Advanced Tech
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-06-2018, 03:45 PM

I was forced to drive one for 2 weeks when I was getting my Fusion Hybrid repaired (hit a leather recliner that fell off a truck at 55 mph).

It felt "cheap" nowhere as refined as the Fusion or even the Niro. Surfaces were hard and plastic. The dash is kind of funny, but I guess you can get used to that. It did feel like a boat when driving.

But the thing just gets high MPG's no matter how you drive it. Easy to get 55 MPG.

A longtime Prius fanboy told me that the Prius was a high MPG vehicle first, and all other creature comforts came second, but the Fusion was a really nice car that got a hybrid drivetrain. Two completely different build philosophies.