Adding a subwoofer, in a very different way - Page 7 - Kia Niro Forum
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #61 of 63 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
91cavgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaxterra View Post
Nice job my man. Not many fans on here because its an energy saving crowd but I'm with you. I've had a sub since I was 15 and I'm 44 now.
We both have been in car audio for a very similar amount of time!

I got into it when I was 14 when my older brother got his first car and I’m 43 now!
91cavgt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 63 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 09:11 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
91cavgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 108
Read this article and it tells you exactly how to measure output power with an AC volt meter. All of my tests were at 40 hz.

http://rftech.custhelp.com/app/answe...r-output-power


What this does not tell you is the distortion level. I do know from a YouTube video that a guy made where he tested the amp I have on an amplifier dyno is the amp is capable of roughly 600 watts continuous at less than 1% THD.

So, by setting the gain so the amp is putting out about 500 watts then I know the amp is not clipping. My maximum volume on the stock radio is 34. This is approximately 75% of max volume which typically is the highest you want to turn the volume up. It is more or less an industry setting if you have no means of putting an O scope on the speaker level outputs on the stock radio.


I’m not an electrical engineer but I have been around the block a few times.
91cavgt is offline  
post #63 of 63 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by 91cavgt View Post
We both have been in car audio for a very similar amount of time!

I got into it when I was 14 when my older brother got his first car and Iím 43 now!
Yes sir I was building boxes and putting in radios and amps for everyone in the neighborhood at about 14-15ish. Just buy me the supplies and I did it for free because I've always loved doing that stuff. Now I can buy a single sub box ready for mount for like $30. lol
jaxterra is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding subwoofer jaxterra Electronics, Audio, and Lighting 17 03-30-2019 11:10 AM
Installed a small subwoofer hackenfort Electronics, Audio, and Lighting 19 03-24-2019 12:05 AM
Subwoofer in 2019 LX chad Electronics, Audio, and Lighting 1 01-12-2019 03:25 PM
Adding Autonomous Emergency Braking AFTER sale??? eddarrah Kia Niro General Discussion 0 09-02-2017 12:59 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome