Negotiating Tactics - Kia Niro Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-15-2017, 10:24 AM Thread Starter

Question Negotiating Tactics

I'm getting ready to go look at a Niro that I have my eye on. I have bought lots of cars over the years, but this will be the first NEW car I've ever owned. I'm really dreading the negotiation. I do NOT want to pay too much, but on the other hand, I'm not really good at poker face and all that. I know that there's not a lot of wiggle room with the price, but I also know there is SOME...and I want to do the best I can.

Here's my specific question: I plan to pay in cash. Should I reveal that at the beginning of the negotiations, or whip that out at the end to get more leeway in the price...>? I would assume that a dealer would rather do a cash sale..much less paperwork and time involved.

I'm not a poker player...I'm the type to put all my cards on the table. What do you suggest? Also, any other tips for getting the best possible price? Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-15-2017, 11:54 AM
Jay

The cash deal won't save you anything. In fact, when my sister bought her Sonata last year it was cheaper to take out a loan even though she wanted to pay cash. The dealers often get rebates from the finance companies. It saved her $1k to finance it and just pay the loan off quickly.

The best way to negotiate, in my opinion, is to get price quotes from several dealers. Know ahead of time what the going price is in your area. Visit truecar.com and see what most others are paying. Know what your trade is worth before you see the dealer if you're trading.