extreme cold weather - Kia Niro Forum
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-19-2019, 10:10 AM Thread Starter

extreme cold weather

I'm looking at buying a Niro. I understand that, like any vehicle, I'll get worse mpg in the winter and that doesn't bother me, but I'm new to the hybrid concept and the cold temps concern me: this past year I about 3 weeks where the overnight lows hit -40. I don't have a garage to put the car in. Am I going to run into problems with the battery at these temps and exposure?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-19-2019, 10:20 AM

As much as I love my Niro I don't think I'd buy any hybrid or electric car if you have that low temps. to deal with. At least not yet.

Gene Daytona Beach Beach, Fl.
2018 Kia Niro LX 7/11/18-
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-19-2019, 10:48 AM
Super Moderator

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoopercc View Post
I'm looking at buying a Niro. I understand that, like any vehicle, I'll get worse mpg in the winter and that doesn't bother me, but I'm new to the hybrid concept and the cold temps concern me: this past year I about 3 weeks where the overnight lows hit -40. I don't have a garage to put the car in. Am I going to run into problems with the battery at these temps and exposure?
Hi Yoopercc, i have a 2019 PHEV and my Canadian cold winter had not a big impact on the MPG of the car. True the MPG goes down, but not as dramatically if you compare to a normal crossover or small suv car. With no garage too, the more i recharged the car, the more high MPG was made.!

Are you looking for an HEV or PHEV model ? and where are you from ?

Eric, The Canadian Guy !!

Kia Niro 2019 - PHEV SX - Snow White Pearl (13000 km)

Kia Niro 2018 - HEV EX 9000 km - Ocean Blue (Deep Cerulean) 6 months of pure pleasure.!!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.