PHEV engine running in EV mode... - Kia Niro Forum
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 05:10 AM Thread Starter

PHEV engine running in EV mode...

Hello fellow Niroites. I’m new to the flock and have recently purchased a 2017 Niro PHEV (ex fleet as had 30k on the clock). My reason for opting for the PHEV is that I am largely an urban driver (based in SE London UK) and 95% of my journeys are local. School run. Shopping etc. However, I am surprised to find that on a full battery the engine still fires up most mornings. I was aware that the engine may kick in to contribute to heating etc. but it’s even running when I stop at the lights, pedestrian crossings etc. Even a modern frugal petrol car would cut the engine at a standstill. Is this normal when the car is on its first outing of the day??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 08:19 AM

Possibly it is normal. As you may know the engine is how the cabin heat is developed. If your outside ambient temperature is below your cabin temperature setting the engine will run to heat the coolant to develop heat to bring the cabin up to temperature. This is normal behavior for the car. There really is no way around this if you wand to keep your windshield from fogging up and to keep your passengers comfortable.

Fully charge your vehicle then monitor the overall trip mpg while driving. If within its electric range it should be well over 100 mpg. Your fuel efficiency is the best indicator that everything is working as expected.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 09:27 AM Thread Starter

Thanks for that... I will keep track of the MPG on short trips around town and see how it goes... Enjoying everything else about it though!
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 09:32 AM

Garage
Also, if your car has them, the heated seats and steering wheel are great and at least for short trips allow me to keep the heat off even when it's around 40F / 4C.

Jim