Kia Niro Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 2019 Kia Niro Lx hybrid. My commute to work is roughly 50 miles each way all highway. I’ve had the car for two days now and it shows I’m averaging about 48mpg. I’ve driven 130.5 miles so far and when I filled the tank up it has 500miles and I’m down to 379. It seems low to me, but this is the first hybrid I’ve ever had and I’m not very good with cars. I’m looking to see if anyone has advice on the best driving style on a highway to get the best mpg? I don’t have smart cruise control (I don’t believe so anyway, the dealer didn’t say I had that feature) any advice is MUCH appreciated!!

·
Super Moderator
516 Posts
I believe that's in the ballpark for the HEV. Remember a hybrid actually gets a little better mileage in stop and go compared to pure highway. Fueleconomy.gov shows the 2019 HEV with a highway rating of 46 MPG and 51 city. And the speed you're driving will have a noticeable impact as well. Driving 65+ MPH will bring it down, and over 70 can really knock the MPG down. Throw in some terrain (hills to climb) and there goes some more.

·
Registered
259 Posts
I agree with ATC. Your mpg's seem right on mark. We have a 2018 LX HEV. Our daily driving usually nets around 50-52mpgs. When we travel up north on the highway our average drops to 46-48mpgs.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Okay thank you! I just wanted to make sure. I’ve always been an “aggressive driver” i.e I speed a lot, so I’m also using this car to try to slow myself down. Trying to keep my speed around 60-65 on the highways instead of my usual 80 so it seems like that will be a big factor in getting the best mpg!

·
Registered
259 Posts