Kia Niro Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do you measure fuel economy?
I saw in the system there is "Hybrid" section. That would show the engine, energy flow, etc.
It also display average "fuel economy".

How is this measured? Is it per trip? Or averaging all trips?

Should I reset this every time after filling gas tank? :)

Yes, I am very new to Kia Niro. Just got this 2020 hybrid few weeks ago, still learning :D

·
Registered
138 Posts
I saw in the system there is "Hybrid" section. That would show the engine, energy flow, etc.

Yes, I am very new to Kia Niro. Just got this 2020 hybrid few weeks ago, still learning :D
The old fashioned way is better and more accurate than believing the cars computer . At the pump just divide the number of miles by gallons . That gives you miles per gallon. In metric it's litres per 100 kilometers.

·
Registered
Niro HEV, 2020, Dynamic Link, UVO, EPB, 10"-AVN, Navi
142 Posts
Yes, the average on the screens depends on distance and temperature ...

Reactions: kia_kia

·
Registered
3,306 Posts
The always displayed average on your dash (depending on view selection - perhaps it is also shown in the hybrid section of the infotainment screen) is an average of all miles traveled since it was last reset. I set mine to automatically zero every time I fill the tank. Generally that number is about 3 mpg optimistic over my calculated mpg, can vary between 1 and 6 mpg optimistic. If you never calculate your actual mpg, relying on just the displayed number will make you feel great about your car purchase!