Kia Niro Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings,

I figured I would start out my time here with some useful information. I am a former professional mechanic, and have learned a thing or two about internal combustion engines. I have some important advice for anyone who owns any vehicle with an ICE (PHEV Niro especially):

DO NOT SWITCH TO SYNTHETIC OIL UNTIL YOU HAVE CLOCKED AT LEAST 100 HOURS ON THE ENGINE.

I would wait until 200 hours, personally.

The reason is that the piston rings need to wear in a bit to "seat". If you swap straight to synthetic oil, you will prevent this necessary process from taking place, and the engine will develop a smoking habit.

It could be that my info is old school and that new tech makes it obsolete. If you know this to be so, please tell me.

Enjoy driving your emperors,
Jim

·
Registered
1,997 Posts
You know the car comes with synthetic oil from the factory, right? I agree and adhered with your policy twenty years ago, but times have changed significantly and engines are built to amazingly better tolerances.

Interesting how there are these competing myths about how synthetic is no better than regular oil changed regularly (some truth there if the change intervals are short enough), and how it is so superior to regular oil that you cannot use it until after engine settles in.

As a fun anecdote, I bought a new PT Cruiser in 2001. Used regular engine oil for perhaps a thousand miles (I'd have to look up my log book - might have gone longer) and then switched to synthetic. It burned a quart of oil like clockwork every 1,500 to 2,000 miles - within factory spec. When I hit 100,000 miles, there was a sudden change and oil consumption dropped to zero. Wild! Mpg remained the same though.