Kia Niro Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last weekend I bought a hi-lo towlite popup camper. It weighs 3150 empty and is 24ft long. It's a little bigger and heavier than I wanted, but it was all I could find without spending >$14k on a new camper. I've had some negative reactions from armchair people online about this bieng crazy and unsafe, despite having a wonderful experience towing it back home. Therefore, in order to have hard evidence for myself, the internet, and any possible insurance claims, I will be putting the niro and this trailer through the SAE J2807 tow rating tests.

After seeing the videos from ECOBRAP, and his results, and feeling the handling myself while driving it home from the dealer, I feel very confident that this car can tow this trailer safely without major mechanical failures.

I'm an engineer in the automotive field and in my opinion the niro wasn't given a tow rating in america primarily for liability and market reasons. There's not enough overlap between people who like towing and people who would buy a niro, and Americans love to tow their big trailers at 75mph down the freeway and then sue when something bad happens. :rolleyes:

The trailer brakes are very strong and work well with my brake controller (Kurt Echo bluetooth) so that the brake pedal "effort" for a given rate of deceleration is the same or nearly the same with the trailer as it is without the trailer. So the brakes aren't under excessive wear or strain.