Kia Niro Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone else experienced an issue with the rear end of the vehicle getting very loose and "sloppy" on wet roads? I have a 2018 HEV LX, with no lane assist. The only feature on my vehicle in traction control. I drive vehicles for a living and have driven everything from motorcycles to heavy trucks and I have never felt a vehicle that is this "loose" when driving on wet roads with any kind of irregularities. My work car prior to this one was a Mazda 2 which is much smaller and lighter, and it didnt have any of these issues on the same roads. Could it be the Michelin tires? I appreciate any feedback.

·
Registered
2,012 Posts
I also have a 2018 LX HEV. It's no sports car and does feel a bit wiggly in the rear when turning briskly on irregular pavement. Not noticed any difference on wet roads. Very sure footed on snow! As I understand that feature, a combination of low center of gravity and very good front to rear weight balance. Most cars I've owned have been very tail happy and eager to spin. Not this one.

·
Registered
240 Posts
Could be your tires don't have the best grip in the wet, especially if you tend to take your corners quickly. The OEM tires are reasonably good, but not exactly a "rain" tire.

·
Registered
76 Posts
never noticed that but we maybe pass at diferent speed in corners :)
known to have influence are tire pressure and geometry,
a geometry a little out and a car can be totally erratic on wet or snow.
I remember some people with subaru having same complaints... geometry out direct from factory.
it might not be your problem but it is a possibility.

·
Registered
76 Posts
ok, sorry, not familiar with your references for that car (here it's referenced as concept/drive and emotion)