Kia Niro Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Kia Niro EV SX Touring
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I would like to start by saying we really like our 2020 Niro EV. Purchased the Sx touring trim (Fully equipped here in Canada), and this will be my first winter with it.
On a side note I have a level 2 charger in my garage.

First question : How do I go about charging the batteries in winter? Do I just keep it plugged in all the time or do i let it go down to 30ish % like I'm doing now and charge it. I set the phone app to charge the car only to 90% which was recommended to me by a tesla owner. If i keep it plugged all the time should i use the level 2 or the trickle charger?

Second question : Due to my job, I will be going away for 6 months and my wife will be driving the niro 1 to 2 times a week on very short trips. Since I'm very new to the EV world i would like your input on what to do here. Knowing electronic a little bit, I understand that these types of batteries are usually stored at 40 to 60% capacity when shipping or storage.

Really glad I found this forum and looking forward to learning about my new ride !

Cheer buds!

·
Super Moderator
2022 Bolt EUV Premier
1,880 Posts
In the cold you might want to keep the charge level higher, mostly because of the range loss from the cold (less efficient and higher energy use for cabin heat). I agree with 90% as an upper limit unless you need a fully charged battery for a specific journey. Level 1 or Level 2? Many user debates online about this. Kia recommends using the Level 1 EVSE as a "trickle charger" (their term). Many battery "experts" state that Level 2 charging is better for the battery than Level 1. They also state that an occasional charge to 100% (say once a month) is good for battery health.